It’s all about the Vastus Medialis

I pondered what running for 12 min, that’s all, 12 min would feel like in my body. I bike about 40 miles a week, for biking around LA is my only form of transportation. Well, actually I also walk and take public transpo. Anyway, given that info, I was so amazed that the one and only muscle that was really, I mean really sore was the mighty vastus medialis, a quadriceps muscle.

 

Why the quadriceps? I mean I use the heck out of that muscle every single day, but goes to show that the muscle itself has parts that are not used. The quadriceps femoris is broken down into 4 fantastic muscles, the vastus lateralis, the vastus medialis, the vastus intermedius and the rectus femoris. They are primarily knee extensors (or stretching the leg straight.) They are incredibly important towards maintaining structural stability of the knee joint.

Given the fact that I am in constant awe of the human body and it is my business to observe the body so closely to facilitate alignment, I’ve come to a very simple conclusion: any movement that is repetitive in any way builds habits in our body that at times may not be completely in balance. Certain muscles that we use daily, get stronger, daily. Those that we happen to gloss over, maybe not even consciously only see the light of day when we attempt to do something new.

Something new, regardless of what it is, physically, is necessary to maintain our health. It can be as simple as walking up the stairs instead of taking the elevator, jumping rope, sprinting instead of jogging, yoga instead of tae bo, boxing instead of yoga, leading with your left leg instead of your right.

Simple. I’m sure nothing new, but it’s oh so nice to remember 🙂

May we always be surprised by the beauty of our bodies, and may we continue to use them in ways that really show how truly divine they are.

2 Responses

  1. Yeah, it’s a trip because I never bike. I did two weeks ago and boy was I sore the next 2 days. I went approximately 3 miles mostly uphill and it was tough.

  2. Isn’t that so weird? I think it’s God’s way of keeping us busy 😉

Leave a Reply

