I’m officially a YoGeek!

So Dave Malkoff from CBS2 news showed up to my class to interview me about online fitness πŸ™‚ How cool is that? Well, we had a great time chatting and I showed him how I did my stuff (podcasting and the like), with my MacBook, my iRiver, and my lav mic. He and his camera man then filmed about 45 min of my yoga class at Swerve Studio. Since he asked me to, I proceeded to record my class, the way that I would normally do it, for my weekly yoga podcast. So there I was now, with 2 mics on me, one, my normal awkward way (with my iRiver on my arm and the lav mic clipped to the front of my top) and then a huge mic box thing inside the pocket of my lovely still crop pants, and another fancy lav mic wrapped around the back of me, and onto the right strap of my top.

Kinda hard to ignore

Still harder to ignore, the fact that the mighty camera man (he was great!) wove in and out of my students and myself carrying this heavy, enormous camera, as if it was a little camcorder. For some reason there was a moment where I actually sort of forgot he was there, as much as one can, and the class became ‘my class’ again. All I thought of was how to help my students stay comfortable being watched. I think that’s one of the hardest things to do, so the way to do it was to simply guide them there. I did my best. This class will be Episode 39, so that y’all can take the class along with them!

Dave told me that I was going to be on the 6 o’clock news πŸ™‚ yeay!!!!

Yea, not so much…as fate would have it some loon decided to make the police chase him all over the freeways, right at 6pm, so I was not on tv 😦 the loon was…or at least until today. Don’t know when the story aired but now the video is up on the website, you can check it out HERE

and check out the corresponding Blog post by Dave , the following is just the beginning of the post, but it’s my favorite part!

May 16, 2007 11:23 am


Who is the bigger computer geek? Comic Book Guy or the woman stretching next to him?

Don’t judge a Comic Book Guy by his cover… or Elsie Escobar by her perfect yoga pose. They’re both about as nerdy!

Aaaahhh, finally, to be compared to Comic Book Guy ***sigh*** the YoGeek has truly arrived!

Make sure you check out his full post.Β  There’s a link to a very interesting article about online fitness!

7 Responses

  1. […] a story! If you want to find out more about the happenings of that day, you can check it out HERE, it’s my post detailing what happened…and […]

  2. Congratulations Elsie!
    The video was awesome! Keep on the good work.

  3. WOW! That is so awesome!!!! Congratulations!!!

  4. thanks guys! I was totally surprised also. very fun though πŸ™‚ and scary at the same time, which made it somehow better….

  5. Cool, congratulations. I’m sure you did great.

  6. “Healthier living goes geek” – I really loved this one. Well done Elsie.

  7. thank you Davor!

Leave a Reply

